Institute Professor Daron Acemoglu Wins A.SK Social Science Award | MIT News


Daron Acemoglu, Institute Professor and the Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics in MIT’s School of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, is the 2023 recipient of the WZB Berlin Social Science Center’s A.SK Social Science Award, one of the crucial extremely endowed worldwide awards within the social sciences.

Acemoglu obtained the award for “his vastly influential work on, among others, the decisive role of institutions in capitalist economies, on the forces of states and societies which must negotiate a balance in order to ensure liberty, and on the uses and risks of automation.” 

In asserting the award, the worldwide jury praised Acemoglu’s elementary contributions to labor economics, macroeconomics, and political economic system.

“As his research moves across both political science and economics, Daron Acemoglu has become a leading expert on the determinants of economic growth,” the worldwide jury wrote.

“I’m extremely honored and humbled to have been chosen because the recipient of the A.SK Social Science Award,” Acemoglu says. “The WZB has been unwavering in its assist for and promotion of high-quality social science, and I take into account myself fortunate and privileged to have been included of their illustrious roster of earlier recipients.”

Acemoglu started educating at MIT in 1993, and has been honored all through his distinguished profession for his work in macroeconomics, political economic system, labor economics, growth economics, and financial principle. Acemoglu co-leads the MIT Shaping the Future of Work Initiative, alongside MIT economists Professor David Autor and Professor Simon Johnson.

Earlier this 12 months, Acemoglu printed “Power and Progress: Our 1000-Year Struggle Over Technology and Prosperity,” co-written with Simon Johnson. Acemoglu has warned of the potential social, financial, and political hurt of permitting AI to go unregulated.

The A.SK Social Science award is endowed with 100,000 euros. Acemoglu will obtain the award at a livestreamed ceremony in Berlin on Nov. 14.

Past recipients of the award embrace MIT economist Esther Duflo, the Abdul Latif Jameel Professor of Poverty Alleviation and Development Economics within the Department of Economics, and a co-founder and co-director of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL), who obtained the consideration in 2015.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here